disposable culture + lent = zero waste bound

img_20170225_153112707One of the first things I noticed when I arrived in Hong Kong is the amount of disposable containers used and thrown away (as show in this picture on a Saturday at 3pm in Mongkok). The abundance of delicious street food and cheap convenience store don’t help the case either. I’m guilty of this convenient, disposable culture – buying bottled drinks and packaged snacks, using Styrofoam containers for take-out/street food, clearance items on sale.. The list goes on.

As the months passed, I discovered that the disposable culture goes beyond the food industry but applies in the fashion and electronics worlds. Fashion changes so quickly! If we want to keep up with it, we have to keep buying. Then, there’s planned obsolescence, which is a fancy way to say “made to be broken/out of style”. The things I buy were never made to last longer than a year or a few uses. I have so much stuff, but am I happy?

It started with a minimalist movement, but I want to do more. I want to also minimize my carbon footprint. I want to leave a planet for future generations. I want to show that God loves people and the planet. I want to be a good steward of the gifts bestowed to me by my Creator – my time, my money, my earth.

hk-foodwastestats

It made me sad when I found out Hong Kong will run out of landfill by 2018. That’s NEXT year!

Zero waste has been on my mind since last year when I began to simplify my room and learned about Lauren’s journey to live waste free. It sounds all hippie-dippy, but it’s quite simple:

“Zero waste is not about consuming or producing nothing. It’s about carefully and intentionally designing, producing, and consuming without waste as an end product.” -Andrea Sanders

I will continue the zero waste journey I started in NYC here in Hong Kong by cutting out plastic for lent. I don’t fast a lot. I can count how many times I’ve fasted on one hand ..let’s be real – half a hand. “If you couldn’t do it in NYC where there are more options, how are you going to do it in Hong Kong where time (thus convenience) is money?” Honestly, I don’t know. I do know that I will fail, but there is grace. I know that it won’t be easy, but it wouldn’t be worth it if it was easy. I doubt Jesus was comfortable fasting in the desert for 40 days. So here goes 40 days without plastic bottles, utensils, bags, etc. If you want to join me, GIVE ME TIPS, or ask questions, feel free to contact me!

Remember when I started my my Project 333 last month? I wanted to minimize my life, starting with my clothes. Like most changes, it’s uncomfortable at first, but then, it becomes second nature. I didn’t even notice a month passed! Nor did I notice the “small” amount of options I have. Not only have these options become my reality but my wardrobe brings me joy. I don’t feel guilty when I look into my closet and see the massive amount of clothes I haven’t touched for years, waiting for that “what if” moment. However, I did cheat for my trip to Cambodia because I needed a tank top and shorts that I didn’t account for.

Lesson: Project 333 by season would be more ideal.. especially since winter is about to end.

