extraordinary God in my ordinary days.

Schedule for Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays, Fridays
8:00/8:30 – wake up
9:00/9:30 – leave home
10:00 – arrive at work
14:00 – advocacy cluster meeting (Tuesdays only)
18:00 – leave work
18:30/19:00 – errands/cook dinner/events/gaming

Most days, I don’t feel like I left New York. My schedule here is very similar to the one back home – work 5 days a week, find things to do on my days off, cook, grocery shop, attend Bible study/church, etc. Work is similar to my last agency’s – casework, event planning, and documentation… lots of documentation. Always documentation in social services. Most days, I wonder if I’m doing missions correctly because it’s been ingrained in me to see missionaries as people who preach the Gospel, and that’s not what I’m doing. I’m not going up to migrant workers and asking if they know about Jesus as their personal Savior; instead, I’m sitting in an office 8 hours a day listening to workers’ pleas for help, encoding client files, learning Tagalog, and planning events. How is that missions?

…How is it not? Didn’t Jesus listen to cries for help, for healing? He probably didn’t have to document everything He did or had to keep track of spreadsheets, but I would like to think that Jesus had meetings with His disciples. Sometimes, I wonder about Jesus’ daily life. What did He do during His free time? Did He have to go to the market, too? What kind of friend was He? Did He joke around with His bros? Or was He super serious and super focused on His work on Earth? #questions!

If we are all called into missions and to make disciples, then what we do daily is missions. Our work places are our mission fields, whether we are in social services or in business. Each moment is an opportunity for us to be a testimony of God’s love. Therefore, I reject the notion that not all of us can go into missions or fight for justice. It is in our ordinary moments, in our daily encounters, in our mundane tasks that we demonstrate who we are as children of the most high God. For me, my missions field is in a non-profit organization to advocate for migrant workers’ rights, and that does entail administrative tasks, whether I like it or not. It is in my ordinary days that I encounter and worship an extraordinary God.

