edu-ma-cation.

Today is my last graduate class. EVER. Facebook reminds me that 4 years ago today, I said good-bye to my undergraduate alma mater after finishing my first year of service with AmeriCorps. I drove the 3.5 hours home to start the next phase of my life, not knowing that 4 years later, I would finish grad school, that I would be preparing to serve overseas as a missionary. It’s funny how life turns out, isn’t it?

I find it amusing and ironic that I went to college for an education1 but received a different type of education2, one that has led me to examine oppression, to question systems, to pursue perfect love. I’m far from finished in my pursuit for social justice and in personal refinement, but college, graduate school, and everything in between has laid the foundation. There is much prayers to be said, tears to be cried, mistakes to be made, and lessons to be learned. Even if it’s not the type of education I wanted when I pursued higher education; it’s the education I needed.

#noregrats #Godsgotjokes

1 the process of receiving or giving systematic instruction
2 an enlightening experience

