“I am enough.”

Three years ago, Jeremy asked me, “If God took everything away from you right now, would you still follow Him?” I hesitated and answered honestly. “I would not.” As I sit here 3 years later, feeling as though everything I have ever wanted is gone, I ask the same question. “Is God enough? He gives and takes away, but will my heart choose to say, “Lord, blessed be Your name”?” I answer honestly. “I would.” Life, as I’ve learned, does not go as planned. Within weeks, the two parts of my life I struggled to trust God with was handed to me and taken away. The relationship that blossomed out of a wonderful friendship ended, and my summer internship opportunity disappeared.

Now what? Honestly, I have no idea. And I am okay with that.

I worship a God who pursued me as I chased the things of this world, fruitless in my attempts, and welcomed me home despite my dirtiness and brokenness. I ran to Him when the world failed me and hopelessness surrounded me. He promised me a new life when I give Him my deaths and endings, and He has yet to disappoint.

When He says, “I am enough” during those times of doubt, fear, depression, and hopelessness, I believe Him and will follow Him out into the waters, into the unknown.

Into your hand I commit my spirit;
you have redeemed me, O Lord, faithful God.
Psalm 31:5

 

