Romans 8:1

Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus.

Word. The cross IS big enough – to heal broken lives, to transform hearts, to free the captives, to forgive. Jesus, as God, stepped OUT of heaven to be human, to be the “other,” to suffer with us, to love us, so that we can know true freedom. And we cannot call people to a freedom we know nothing about. How can I tell others how amazing Ben & Jerry’s phish food is if I’ve never had it myself? (It is quite delicious, let me tell you that! And it will soon be fair-trade! WOOT!)

Going into NYCUP, I didn’t know what I was doing. To be honest, I was scared. I was afraid that I wouldn’t do a good job, that I would fail the girls who were under my care, that I, frankly, wasn’t Godly enough to lead. “Wait a minute, this isn’t about what I can do; this is about what God can do. Have you learned nothing from this summer?!” And when I let go of my pride and the idea that I had control, there was a sense of freedom and peace.

This isn’t about us; it’s about who God is, and He is a forgiving God who loves His creation. And when we realize that it isn’t what we do to fight trafficking, poverty, hunger, homelessness, education, domestic violence, racism, etc. but who God is, we will begin to work out of that freedom and not for it. We do not have the burden of the world on our shoulders. We are not the ones who are going to change the world; we are merely the hands and feet of Jesus to love the world.

have anything to say?

