logging off at the supermarket.

LoGOFF stands for Local. Green. Organic. Fair. Free. And that is what i plan to do for the next year! ;D

When I decided this yesterday, I thought, “How hard can this be? I just need to be conscious of clothes. (I was focusing on the slave-free part of LoGOFF.)” Boy, was I proven wrong! It was also the day I planned to go grocery shopping. Usually, I can zip into a supermarket (Walmart or Price Chopper), grab what I need, pay, and leave. This takes approximately 10 to 15 minutes. It took me over an hour to buy 10 items! Granted that I went to a new supermarket where I didn’t know where anything was, but that wasn’t the issue. I read EVERY label possible for every item I bought to make sure it was either local, green, organic, fair, and/or slave-free. a great deal of time was spent in the bread and coffee aisles. Thank goodness Hannaford (new supermarket) labeled all organic items, or it would have taken me over two hours.

The first stop was the dairy section, which I later regretted because it was the heaviest and the most likely to spoil. Good job, right? After finding out that some of the products were dyed, I settled on getting the organic one. The only option I had anyway. I didn’t buy organic or local cheese and turkey deli meat because there weren’t any options for that. I tried my best to get something that had no corn syrup in it though. That was pretty difficult (what is modified potato syrup?).

I spent a ridiculous amount of time in the bread section. Organic and local bread was $4.49. This was when I realized this year I won’t be eating much. Simply because I can’t afford to. I had to settle for whole wheat bread that had no corn syrup in it. Sadly, I moved onto the coffee aisle. I found bulk cases of Folgers, Nestle, Starbucks, Dunkin’ Donuts, and Chock Full o’Nuts. None of these were fair trade. I found two bags that were fair trade certified (organic, I don’t know) and settled on one of them after sitting down (literally) and reading both bags.

Tired (and somewhat confused), I swung by the meat and produce sections to pick up organic beef, chicken, and tomatoes. As I walked towards the checkout counter, I realized there was a section full of organic (some fair-trade) products. I made this face in the store: -__- WHY DIDN’T I SEE THIS BEFORE?! I decided to check it out and traded my fair-trade coffee for organic (claimed to be ethically traded) coffee. At this point, I was exhausted from shopping and SO HUNGRY. I paid for my groceries (and bought a reusable bag), went home, and made chili from scratch. Proud moment. (:

Summary: Logging off is going to be a challenge this year, but I believe that God is calling each and everyone of us to take care of His creation, from the plants to the animals to His people. It may be difficult, but it’s through Him and His strength that everything’s possible. If you want to LoGOFF with us or find out more, visit the website!

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.
– Margaret Mead

have anything to say?

